Iron & Wine Gets a New Life with Cursed Lands

If you’ve been following me for any length of time, you probably know that I’ve got a few books under my belt. I’m currently working on my 15th novel, 5th full length screenplay, and have taken the plunge into audiobooks with my International Bestselling Series Dark Tides.

But, like everything, it had to start somewhere, right? For me, that start was The Ironworld Series. I began writing the first book, Iron & Wine, right after I graduated high school. Picking away at it by hand (I know, right?) in this gorgeous leather journal I had (which I STILL have, for sentimental reasons).

Then I went off to college to study Interior Design and that journal got tucked away at the bottom of my closet, never to be seen again.

Or so I’d thought…

After college, I went off to Alberta where I met my wonderful hubby. I spent a few years perfecting my career as an Interior Designer. Won a few awards. Worked with some amazing people. But when I felt as though I’d squeezed as much joy from that venture, my mind began to wander.

What did I really want to do? What was DREAM?

Well, it was to be a writer, of course. Before I went to college for Design, I’d been accepted to three school for Creative Writing. But I was terrified to take that road. Worried I’d never get a “real job” with it.

So, years later, after I had taken a major detour, I dug through my closet, dusted off that old leather journal, and fell back in love with Iron & Wine. I immersed myself in it. It took four years, but I finally typed those delicious words that every author longs for; THE END.

But was it?

I had no idea how to publish a book, or find an agent, or any of that. I just knew I had a book and I loved it. This was right around the time that the dawn of self-publishing was emerging, so I did a little research and was sold. 100% control over everything? The obsessive control freak in me squealed. Self-publishing was for me.

So, I polished up the manuscript to the best of my ability, had my Graphic Designer hubby create a cover for it, and was on my way. But little did I know…I was a guppy in an ocean of dolphins. I didn’t have an editor, I had zero technical training, and my husband was a specialist in logo designs…not book covers (at the time. Now he’s a multi award-nominated cover designer *proud smile*)

Check out the very first attempt at the Iron & Wine cover! Wow, this sucker brings back memories LOL

But, still, despite my nativity, readers embraced Iron & Wine with open arms. They loved the quirky characters and the majestic storyline of a magical hidden world of Faerie right at your fingertips. Book two, Blood & Bone was birthed from that very same love of readers and the conclusion soon followed; Love & Magic. This series holds a special place in my heart because it taught me A LOT. I learned to follow my dreams, hone my craft, absorb as much knowledge as I could fit into my brain.

Now, almost a decade later, I’m a #1 International Bestselling Author, Award-Winning Screenplay Writer, and about to publish my 15th novel. It was a long road, I put A TON into my craft, built my readership, and took some marketing courses.

Now, here I am once again brushing the dust off Iron & Wine. My ticket that got me into the world of publishing. The platform I built everything on. The book deserves a fresh breath of air. It spent months in editing, both line and developmental. It got a shiny new cover. And what better way to launch this overhauled baby of mine?

With an epic collection of other YA Fantasy books with 20+ other kick-ass authors in my genre! That’s right, the Special Edition of Iron & Wine will be found exclusively in the Cursed Lands box set on May 7th for a VERY limited time. The entire 23 book collection of full-length novels is just A DOLLAR! And you get the Special Edition version of Iron & Wine. After that, when it’s released solo, Iron & Wine will be full price…so make sure to reserve yours now while you can!

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOURS!

So, for those who’ve never read The Ironworld Series, you’re probably asking, “Well, what the heck is Iron & Wine about, anyway, Candace?”. It’s a YA Fantasy Romance about a human girl accidentally stumbling upon a hidden magical world of mythical creatures. Fairies, mermaids, trolls, vampires, shapeshifters…you name it. Here’s the run down for book one.

Three mythical races. Decades of ancient war. And the love of one girl to save them all.

Going to college was supposed to open new doors for art student Avery Quinn. She just didn’t think one of those doors would be the gateway to another world, a hidden universe full of mythical creatures beyond the realm of belief, cloaked by modern day.

With an evil fairy Hell-bent on her demise and decades of a mythical war coming to fruition…Avery must find a way to help her magical friends end the ancient feud before the effects spill over into her own world.

But when the love of a gorgeous Australian vampire turns her life upside down, Avery finds her heart hanging in the balance…as well as her humanity.

Fans of HOLLY BLACK and MELISSA MARR Will Fall in Love with The Ironworld Series!

And here’s a little snippet from the book!

I nearly drowned. But, as much as the fear was still fresh in my veins, the thought was already beginning to wash away. Replaced by a new feeling. An obsession. I was utterly enthralled with the world of Faerie and wanted nothing more than to explore it again.

Even if it killed me.

So, that’s it. That’s the history of Iron & Wine, the very first book I ever created. It had a long road to get where it is today, and I love it like a first-born child. But you know what the best part of this journey is? The Cursed Lands collection is aiming to hit the USA TODAY list during release week (May 7th-14th). That’s right, if we make our goal, if we hit that sweet coveted list, I’ll become a USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR with the VERY FIRST book I ever wrote! Insane and amazing!

Reserve your $.99 copy now and help us attain that goal. We’ve been working for almost a year towards this and we’re sooooo close. Not only will you be helping us with this dream, you’ll also be getting 23 full-length YA Fantasy novels.

RESERVE YOUR COPY HERE!

PLUS! That’s not all! We have presents!

When you preorder Cursed Lands, head to our website and snag your free gift!! 15 other amazing books! AND, be sure to enter our weekly giveaway! A brand spankin’ new gift card to hand out each and every week.

GRAB YOUR FREE GIFT HERE!

ENTER THE GIVEAWAYS HERE!

Anyhoo, that’s enough ranting from me haha I just wanted to share my decade-long journey with this book. Be sure to check in during May 7th-14th to see how we’re doing with Cursed Lands. Fingers crossed we make our goal! We’ve put our blood, sweat, and tears into this endeavour for almost a year! =)

Have an awesome weekend, readers! *kiss*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.